The Road Less Traveled

“Tell me who your friends are and I tell you who you are” or “Birds of the same feather flock together”. Popular quotes that I ignored because of two reasons: I accept people who they are and if I associate with them it doesn’t mean I’m like them nor do the same things they do. So I welcomed some people I thought I could trust, get along with them, eat and have fun with them. However in the long run, I noticed I became different. My actions, speech and even principles have changed; they became what I hated once. My relationship with my family got thorny and I grew unhappy, difficult to please. I figured I was influenced badly by the clique I’m in and the quotes were true. So I wanted out – away from the usual sharing of juicy gossips we enjoyed at work like our daily meals, to be distant from negative thinkers and function like reasonable adult again.

DSC_1678But keeping distance from what makes you awful is not easy. It’s probably like surrendering yourself to rehab. You want yourself to be healed and do what makes you happy only; however there are side effects that hurt the heart. The people you used to laugh with at the expense of others now they shriek at your expense. The people you shared your ideas with now wait for your fall because they hate you for leaving them and probably cannot accept that you chose to grow..? To change the direction of my life was never easy. This direction is the way to the road less traveled where there is little companionship – the road to decency and morality. I don’t want to be a member of the judgmental team anymore. I don’t want to be part of gossip-mongers working force. I had to do it and if they were true friends they’d understand and offer support rather ridicule and mock my decisions. Instead they’re happy to see me alone but little did they know I found peace on my own. I learnt a lot from being alone for I could think without the pressure of others. (The experience was like high school peer pressure and I didn’t expect it could happen in adult life at work.)

But today I’m not alone anymore because I found true friends and realized the worth of having a supportive family. Most of all I found blogging as a good source to improve myself and I consider it too a road less traveled. Many opted to content themselves on Facebook all day –sharing dramas, posting loves and hates, fighting,  liking and NOT reading. If I hadn’t departed from our wickedness, I would have been as miserable as them who only talk about the negativity and the failures of each of them. I would have been a trouble maker and a friendship wrecker. Worse, I would have been sacked at work for irresponsibility and incompetency. It would have been a chaotic and unhappy life. Glad I made a decision. It makes my husband, family and real friends proud of me.

………………………………………………………………………………………………

DSC_1646

My first participation to Daily Prompts. Today’s theme: The Road Less Traveled

Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us OTHER.

14 thoughts on “The Road Less Traveled

    1. I’ve read that post and I agree everything you said.
      It hurts to know you failed to choose the right people but, yeah, we learn from experience. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment ↓.

