Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

Mushy Sundays when alone at home. With mellow music and only the sounds of vehicles are heard, the smell of my neighbors barbecue and the constant postings of friends on Facebook about their family Sunday-get-together make me homesick!
And now there’s Weekly Photo Challenge theme: Nostalgic!
Fine, I’m in.

Fishermen
–The Fishermen–
When I was younger and in the island (Camiguin), I went around villages near the sea on Sunday afternoons to watch fishermen gather their catch. Whenever they get plenty of catch they just give away extra fish to neighbors or friends who happen to be in the seashore. Sometimes I receive some but usually I buy fresh catch to grill at home for family dinner. Now that I’m miles away, I miss this simple life where people seem to treat familiar faces as their friend or family. Their life may be miserable in some aspect but the smile is always painted on their faces! I miss hearing their jokes and laughter while working hard. They are examples of people who know how to ride the tides of life. Cool and brave!
Till we meet again, folks! (photo taken in 2007)
Sunset at the beach
–Sunrise at the beach–
Morning walk at the beach is a perfect way to start our Sunday. We bring with us our breakfast and stay their until the tide is high or low. We read books, fish, cook and grill under palm trees. We write our names and initials on sand until the waves washed them away.
--Sunday Mass-- Hearing the Sunday Mass, making the effort to hear the gospel and food for the soul. Meeting friends after, Sunday shopping and picnics at the park.
–Sunday Mass–
Hearing the Sunday Mass, making the effort to hear the gospel and food for the soul. Meeting friends after, Sunday shopping and picnics at the park.
Brother on patrol
–Brother on patrol–
Since 2003, we met once in 2007. Missing him a lot. Proud to be a sister of one of the nation’s guard.
13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

    1. Oh yes, I won’t trade it for malls or shopping sprees. (shopping can be done on saturdays, lol) 😀
      You’re welcome and thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      Like

  1. Nostalgic indeed Coco and I would have missed a life like that as well. Yes, I know what you mean with a simple life where people seem to treat familiar faces as their friend or family. You don’t get that any more. Great shots and thanks for sharing. 😀

    Like

      1. You’re welcome hon and indeed. It seems the only time people do want to be friendly is when you have some kind of status, money or big house and car. I don’t care for that. If they don’t want to know me with what I have, they must just move on. I am quite happy being on my own. 😀

        Like

Leave a comment ↓.

