So They are Called ‘Lantana’

In my province we simply call this plant ‘wild flower/wild plant’ because they grow everywhere . We have mostly the orange and white variety. We ignore them and we don’t even plant or use them as garden ornaments. However we find them useful as herbal medicine. The leaves when squeezed or minced produce juice good to heal fresh wound and stops  bleeding. When we decided to expand our little garden, my father cut them off. We replaced different flowers and orchids but eventually the remaining roots of Lantana provide new buds and young leaves. These kind of plant don’t die easily or wither; they last and even blossom during El Niño season. When I moved to the city I was amazed that these are sold and cultivated in gardens. I found their worth and I feel privileged or lucky to have them grow freely in our backyard for we don’t need to go to nurseries or plants shops to buy them.

Until recently I came across a blog post  of Jay DeeMAINICHI DOKODEMO PHOTOGRAPHY, featuring Lantana flowers and only then I knew its name.

11 thoughts on “So They are Called ‘Lantana’

  1. Wow! this is really interesting! I’ve often wondered about some of the plants that I buy for my garden (and yes, I bought a Lantana plant for my garden). I’ve often wondered if they might grow wild in other countries, and I guess I just found out my answer today. Very interesting, and a very pretty plant indeed! 🙂

    Like

    1. Glad you found your answer 😀 My aunt made a hedgerow out this plant and it turned out to be really gorgeous. Plus, I’ve never seen caterpillars live under the leaves or stems so, I kinda love them haha (I’m scared of catterpillars) 😀 Thanks for dropping by and for the lovely comment. Have joyful day!

      Like

    1. Yes they are tropical plants/flowers. . They are mostly found in warm regions. I saw them first in my country, Philippines. These photos are taken in Thailand.
      Thanks for your comment, have a nice day! 🙂

      Like

  2. Beautiful colors. I love this plant. I have and sucess and failures with them thought not sure why. These grow well in the heat but they REALLY die back in the cold winters. One died and two of thrived and survived at 2000 ft in the Sierra foothills for about three years.

    Like

    1. I think by nature these plants grow in high heat and humidity that’s why they rarely survive during winter. And yes they do survive in hills and even in rocky plains. I remember when I was in the Philippines some farmers had hard time eradicating these plants from their corn fields too; these plants have strong branches with tiny thorns.
      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Have a lovely day!

      Like

    1. Yes. When I was a kid I disliked them because I don’t like its smell and the leaves are itchy. Now that I’m an adult, I learn to appreciate them especially the flowers. Thanks for your comment, Ruth. Have a lovely day!

      Like

Leave a comment ↓.

