Etiquette, Always Good to Know: Best Wishes or Congratulations?

In weddings, do you say ‘Best Wishes’ or ‘Congratulations’ to the bride?

My aunt says:

Always, always, always  say ‘Best wishes’ to the bride and say ‘congratulations’ to the groom.

Saying ‘congratulations’ to the bride is like an insult. It means she has done a good job of winning her groom.  On the other hand it is the groom must be congratulated for getting the hand and heart of her bride who accepts his marriage proposal.

Many times in the past I wrote ‘congratulations’ to my female friends on their wedding photo albums and even on cards I sent. My aunt corrected me that it’s not proper to say ‘congratulations’ to the bride and explain all the why’s. These maybe be old rules but I believe they are proper etiquette. So I’d like to stick to them and let others know too.

google imagesP.S. Saying ‘congratulations’ is better than ‘congratulation’. Be generous! 😀

Good manners are just a way of showing other people that we have respect for them.

~Bill Kelly

4 thoughts on “Etiquette, Always Good to Know: Best Wishes or Congratulations?

    1. I used to do that too but some people say it’s better to greet “best wishes” to both than congratulations. 😀 Thanks for reading! Have a great day!

      Like

  1. True! I heard this when I was attending a wedding. That was my first time to know the difference in greeting “best wishes” and “congratulations”. Good post.

    Like

Leave a comment ↓.

