Angry Birds

I grew up in a province where every Sunday afternoon, men gather for a cock fight. I guess it has become a tradition and even a vice to many Filipino men. My father and brother breed roosters and this is where I got these photos from in one of my visits home.

angrybirds1

Since I was curious how a cockpit looks like during a fight, I went in and observed with my fiancé. Inside, one can feel the emotions of the betting men in every soar and attack of every hostile cockerel. For me the bettors looked like cheerleaders less the pom-poms and make up. The rise and fall of their voices went along the gliding and assailing of the birds.  I found some  men with funny expressions when they shout as support to their bets.  And some others who lose big time just looked like they lose their world too!
(I regret I did not have the courage to take photos inside the cockpit. Someone said it’s bad luck and some people don’t want to be seen gambling so I just respect their preferences…)

angry cock

But there’s one thing that makes me wonder most. Before a fight starts, the men who hold the roosters move two roosters closer together until one peck and the other strike back. Are these birds really that angry with one another without cause? Even at home, my father took one from its cage and move it closer to another who’s cooped up, then instantly they start acting unfriendly and virulent. Are they naturally born to kill each other? The hens don’t act that way though, only when someone tries to threaten to catch their chicks or take their eggs. But the roosters seem always aggressive! For that reason I call them angry birds!

2 thoughts on “Angry Birds

    1. In the Philippines it is legal, the cockpit is open every Sunday afternoon and there are special days for cock derby. Even the politicians raise quality breeds for derby purposes 😀
      Thanks for visiting, have a great day!

      Like

Leave a comment ↓.

