Daily Prompt: Sad But True

“You are sarcastic!” finger_pointing_027

“My natural-born sarcasm, when it’s unimpeded, can be a bit overbearing at times and I’m the first to admit that.” This is a statement said by a certain Tom Bergeron about being sarcastic and I would say the same words to admit my guilt.

Is being sarcastic awful? If it is, I’ve been bad for a very long time. I always hear my contemporaries say I’m sarcastic. They say I am offendingly blunt or tactless and they hate me more when I tell them back I’m just being honest and direct.

In Southeast Asia, especially in Thailand, being sarcastic, a critic or direct is disliked and people keep away from you. The ‘saving faces’ attitude and overrated ‘politeness in speech’ of the Asians make you feel bad if you’re a natural sarcastic especially if you don’t use discretion with your sarcasm. As a matter of fact, a colleague accused me of being ‘extremely sarcastic and horrible person’ and she demanded the company to sack me from my job. Fortunately, I remained at work because sarcasm is not a ground for dismissal 🙂 or probably the boss was sarcastic too! 😀

I know that sarcasm must be used with vigilance or it can really cut deep and I know too that sometimes I forget being kind in words so I tried to change my strong sarcasm. It has soften nowadays because I don’t want to hurt more people’s feelings. But may I add that I realized I’ve been totally arrogant before probably because of the type of people I deal with. Sometimes our actions and speech vary in the type of people and environment we’re in. 😀

MjAxMi04ZWYwMzk4MmRhMDJkMDgxBlow a Kiss

Tell us about the harshest, most difficult to hear — but accurate — criticism you’e ever gotten. Does it still apply?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HARSH.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sad But True

Leave a comment ↓.

