My Favorite Quotes of Buddha

These are my favorite quotes from Buddha. The quotes inspire me a lot and give me enlightenment after some self-reflections and re-evaluation especially when I feel sad, worried or angry.

I asked about my Thai friend who is a devoted Buddhist about the quotes if all of them are actual words of the Buddha. I do not want to post something untrue and not give credit to whom the inspiring quotes came from. She said there are some (but not pointed out which one) that are not entirely Buddha’s actual words but is associated to Buddha’s teachings. I guess there are words that are altered however the meaning of the motto remains the same hence she said some are not from Buddha. It doesn’t make any difference anyway if they all come from Gautama Siddhartha or not. Wise words are good for the spirit and we need them in dealing daily undertakings. Personally, I like them a lot because they incite good values to maintain good morals and seem to build up new hope that has died. I am in fact guilty of doing against what has been said by these good words from Buddha. That’s probably the most rational reason why I like these quotes a lot; they not only motivate me to do good but to remind me when I tend to go the wrong ways.

“You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.”

Guilty.

I often make fun of my own physical flaws and even ideas and sometimes less caring of my health. When I stumble upon these words, I realized who would love and defend myself if the rest of the world mock me?

y 070

“Do not overrate what you have received, nor envy others. He who envies others does not obtain peace of mind.”

Guilty.

Social influence has a great dragging power, too tough to resist or go against. It demands you to take part of every affairs and fads and fashion. It demands you to show off what you got and tell the world about it. The social media is killing the humility. Vanity is queen. Or am I blaming society to excuse myself for my own fault and ego? I’m afraid to hear my own answer.

y 133

“The wise ones fashioned speech with their thought, sifting it as grain is sifted through a sieve.”

Guilty.

Tact is not my strongest point. Sarcasm maybe. I hurt people with piercing words than swords. I can construct distasteful speech easily when angry. Then I have to deal with shame and guilt at the end of the day. It’s not easy to change an attitude but I will do my best to fashion my language in a classy manner.

y 132

“Teach this triple truth to all: A generous heart, kind speech, and a life of service and compassion are the things which renew humanity.”

Right! I failed at kind speech but not often. I just need more time to practice kinder speech to all people in all occasions and places. 😀

y 122

“I do not believe in a fate that falls on men however they act; but I do believe in a fate that falls on them unless they act.”

Oh yes! We must work in order to put food on our tables. Perseverance and hard work will lead us to where we want to go and what we want to have. I like this quote, because I tend to be lazy and always need a push to work harder, I consider this not the carrot that motivates me to work, but I think it’s the stick that hit gently on my back in order for me to get up and take action!

y 052

“Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.”

Perfect! Enough said!

 

y 023

 

“An idea that is developed and put into action is more important than an idea that exists only as an idea.”

(WORST: If there’s NO idea at all! haha)

Too many people complain a lot of many things and forget how to appreciate what they have got and I am not an exception. I always complain, I have aired many ideas to change some things and systems but when I’m ordered to do such things and start the change I begin to moan again, “too much work”!

I definitely need a personality revamp  😀

y 039

“The tongue like a sharp knife… Kills without drawing blood.” – See more at: http://quotesnsmiles.com/quotes/calming-buddha-quotes/#sthash.1wj9P7QU.dpuf
“The tongue like a sharp knife… Kills without drawing blood.” – See more at: http://quotesnsmiles.com/quotes/calming-buddha-quotes/#sthash.1wj9P7QU.dpuf

“The tongue like a sharp knife… Kills without drawing blood.”

Similar to what’s written above. I really need to mellow on sarcasm and keep my mouth zip when I don’t have nice things to say. Difficult to do where I work but I consider this a challenge. Wish me luck! 😀

10 thoughts on “My Favorite Quotes of Buddha

  1. Great images! I agree with you. Sometimes, it’s better to keep quiet if I have nothing better to say. I always do this. However, there are people who also need to hear a sarcastic truth to shut them up. 😀

    Like

  2. I could totally relate with the sarcasm-part… 🙂
    Experiences that involved hurting others with my speech has effectively taught me to wield words in a kinder speech,
    or not say anything at all (and let the biting words float in my head).

    Like

    1. You said it right!
      In my office, one German teacher doesn’t accept the word sarcasm but witty! 😀 So it’s like he has an excuse of throwing sharp words… with art. But still not a valid act especially when it makes others avoid you when you start to open your mouth. 😀 Thanks for reading!

      Like

      1. Indeed! Sarcasm has that effect of making one sound smart. Sometimes, it can be funny, too!
        But when it starts to hurt people (even without intending to hurt them), sarcasm loses its appeal.
        You’re welcome! Wise words like the Buddha’s are worthy reads. 😀

        Like

Leave a comment ↓.

