My Ayuthaya Tour in Photos, part 1

I’ve been meaning to visit the old capital of Thailand, Ayuthaya but only the past week that I had a decent time to enact the plan.
The city is called Phra Nakhon Si Ayuttha or Ayudhaya. It’s actually the second capital of Thailand after Sukhothai. I’m not very familiar of Thailand history but that was what I heard from the tour guide. Though I’ve watched the movie Sukhothai and King Naresuan, I vaguely understood the entire story of Thai ancient times.

At the Ayuthaya historical Park
The only photo of me that I like when I was there 😀
y 051
Chedi
y 057
More Buddhas wrapped in yellow-orange cloth
a (6)
another picture of me. i thought of using this as entry for photo challenge contrast but changed my mind 🙂
y 350
I love these tall pillars covered with bricks…
y 349
especially this scene where a statue of a Buddha is put in the center among these pillars
y 336
local tourists take a leisure time before or after their visit and incense offering in the nearest temple too
y 335
It was really hot that day but it did not stop me from strolling and discovering the ancient city
y 324
This head/ face of a statue lay for a very long time that a tree had all its time to cover it with roots
y 322
Actually this area shows statues of bodies headless or armless… More photos about them in my next post.
y 305
Chedi, soon totally brick-less 🙂
y 271
I think they call this ‘prang’. All made and surrounded with bricks and beautifully built.
y 263
Another ‘prang’ with different design…still with bricks.
y 218
close up side of one of the ‘prangs’
y 191
Monkey faces on the wall, who’s the scariest of all?
y 151
These bells create a melodic sound when struck skillfully. I saw a monk stopped by before I get here and he played a tune, so brief that he’s already gone when I reach to take a video or photo
Sister try to imitate the monk…

I enjoyed the trip in Ayuthaya as well as the food we had. The city is generally peaceful and people are friendly. I only complained about the humidity on the day we went there. It was terribly hot! I guess the heat abate my enthusiasm. 😦 But looking at my photos made me think that the trip was worth the heat and beat after all! At first I really expect something more like waterfalls, more floating markets and vast gardens but the tour guide only get us to series of temple stops until we get tired and decide to go home. I sound discontented but not really. The temples we visited depict the true history and ancient culture of Siam which was the most important thing to experience and see in person.

2 thoughts on “My Ayuthaya Tour in Photos, part 1

Leave a comment ↓.

